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Notice to Readers 

This report provides summaries of new laws (public acts and special acts) significantly affecting 

transportation enacted during the 2024 regular legislative session and June Special Session (JSS). 

OLR’s other Acts Affecting reports are, or will soon be, available on OLR’s website. 

 

Each summary indicates the public act (PA) or special act (SA) number. Not all provisions of the 

acts are included. The report does not include vetoed acts unless the veto was overridden. 

Complete summaries of public acts are, or will soon be, available on OLR’s website. 

 

Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the Connecticut State 

Library, House Clerk’s Office, or General Assembly’s website. 
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Airports and Aviation 

Alcohol Sales at Bradley Airport  

A new law modifies the hours during which alcohol sales are allowed at Bradley Airport in premises 

operating under a cafe permit to every day after 4:00 a.m. and until 11:00 p.m. Under prior law, 

sales were generally allowed beginning after 6:00 a.m. and until (1) 1:00 a.m. on Monday through 

Friday and (2) 2:00 a.m. on the weekend (with certain holiday exceptions) (PA 24-40, § 41, 

effective October 1, 2024). 

 

Vertiports and Unmanned Aircraft  

The legislature passed a new law that defines “vertiports” and “unmanned aircraft” (i.e., drones) 

and incorporates these concepts into various existing aeronautics statutes. In doing so, the new law 

generally subjects vertiports to the same regulatory framework as other air navigation facilities 

(e.g., airports, heliports, and restricted landing areas), including requirements for facility licensure 

and aircraft registration, among other things. It also generally expands the authority of the 

Connecticut Airport Authority (CAA) executive director to cover unmanned aircraft and allows him, in 

consultation with the Department of Transportation (DOT) and representatives from the industry 

and certain organizations, to adopt procedures specifying where unmanned aircraft may take off 

and land and governing their operation, unless already prohibited or regulated by federal law. 

 

The new law applies to unmanned aircraft certain existing statutes on investigations and reporting 

requirements for aircraft accidents, reckless operation, and operation under the influence. It also 

(1) prohibits any person from operating, or programming to operate, an unmanned aircraft at a 

height of less than 250 feet over the boundaries of a private premises without the owner’s prior 

approval (with certain exceptions) and (2) makes violations an infraction (PA 24-40, §§ 20-40, most 

provisions are effective July 1, 2024). 

 

Automated Enforcement 

DOT Work Zone Speed Camera Program  

This session, the legislature restarted and made permanent DOT’s work zone speed camera 

program (the pilot program expired on December 31, 2023). The new law generally retains the pilot 

program’s provisions on vendors, speed camera placement and operation, ticket issuance and 

processing, and data retention and privacy. However, it makes several changes to the program, 

such as (1) expanding the permissible locations for work zone speed cameras; (2) lowering, from at 

least 15 mph to at least 10 mph, the amount by which a vehicle must exceed the posted speed 

limit in a work zone in order to be issued a warning or ticket; (3) modifying the fine structure and 

requiring that a fine be issued for a first violation if the vehicle’s detected speed is 85 mph or more; 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
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and (4) requiring notice to a municipality’s chief elected official before operating speed cameras in 

the municipality (PA 24-40, §§ 42-47, effective July 1, 2024).  

 

Illegally Passing a School Bus 

New legislation makes several changes relating to Connecticut’s motor vehicle law that generally 

prohibits drivers from passing a school bus that has its red signal lights flashing (commonly known 

as the “stop arm law”). Principally, it (1) sunsets municipalities’ and boards of education’s current 

statutory authority to use a live digital video school bus violation detection monitoring system to 

enforce the stop arm law, generally by July 1, 2026, and (2) instead expressly allows municipalities 

to adopt ordinances authorizing the use of a monitoring system to enforce the stop arm law and 

establishing a $250 municipal fine for violations (PA 24-107, effective July 1, 2024). 

 

Municipal Speed and Red Light Cameras 

A new law modifies the penalty and data retention provisions applicable to municipal speed and red 

light camera programs enacted under PA 23-116. Generally, it specifies when a violation is 

considered a second or subsequent violation, which may be subject to higher penalties, and allows 

municipalities or their vendors to retain data necessary to impose the penalties (PA 24-40, §§ 48-

50, effective July 1, 2024).  

 

Noise Cameras 

Under a new law, municipalities may authorize the use of noise cameras (photo noise violation 

monitoring devices) to enforce vehicle noise violations. To do so, a municipality must adopt an 

ordinance that (1) establishes a municipal violation for causing a vehicle to make a sound of 80 

decibels or louder, except for sounds made by the vehicle’s horn; (2) authorizes the use of cameras 

to enforce the ordinance; and (3) meets the law’s other specified requirements. Municipalities 

operating noise cameras under the new law must issue a written warning for a first violation, a 

$100 fine for a second violation, and a $250 fine for subsequent violations. They must also adhere 

to the law’s provisions on camera operation, image review and citation issuance, hearings and 

available defenses, privacy, and data retention (PA 24-151, §§ 132-136, effective July 1, 2024). 

 

Bus and Rail 

Bus Facility Advertisements  

The law generally prohibits erecting billboards and advertising signs within 660 feet of the edge of 

the interstate and other limited-access highways. However, the DOT commissioner may allow 

certain types of signs subject to its regulations, such as directional and other official signs. The law 

also makes an exception for advertising signs, displays, or devices located on, built on, or abutting 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=107
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2023&bill_num=116
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=151
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property in areas owned, managed, or leased by a public authority for certain purposes (e.g., rail 

infrastructure facilities, bus rapid transit corridors, and certain associated structures). A new law 

adds bus facilities to these exceptions (PA 24-40, § 10, effective July 1, 2024). 

 

Bus Passes for High School Students 

New legislation provides a $175,000 grant to both the Hartford and New Haven boards of 

education to purchase bus passes for state-owned or state-controlled bus public transportation 

service for students enrolled in grades 9 to 12, inclusive, in Hartford and New Haven public 

schools. The grants are intended to supplement existing school transportation to allow 

transportation at times other than immediately before or after school, such as after extra-curricular 

activities (PA 24-81, § 120, effective July 1, 2024).   

 

Commercial Rail Freight Line Competitive Grant Program 

DOT’s commercial rail freight line competitive grant program is currently funded by state general 

obligation bonds. Under a new law, it may also be funded by special tax obligation bonds. This 

program awards competitive grants for improvements and repairs to, and modernization of, existing 

rail, rail beds, and related facilities (PA 24-151, § 25, effective July 1, 2024). 

 

Fare Enforcement on Public Buses  

A new law allows DOT employees, or third-party contractors, that have “fare inspection duties” to 

issue citations to people who deliberately ride state-owned public buses without paying the required 

fare. Under prior law, only employees or contractors designated as “fare inspectors” could issue 

these citations (PA 24-40, §§ 12 & 13, effective July 1, 2024). 

 

Metro North Indemnification  

A new law specifies that the DOT commissioner can only indemnify and hold harmless Metro North 

Railroad against certain claims related to M-8 rail car operation when Metro North is acting in its 

capacity as the state’s contracted maintainer of the M-8 rail car fleet. As under existing law, the 

commissioner may do so only if (1) he finds it is in the state’s best interest and (2) the 

indemnification does not relieve Metro North of liability for its willful or negligent acts or omissions 

(PA 24-40, § 14, effective July 1, 2024). 

 

Modernizing and Maintaining Bus Stops and Shelters  

New legislation specifies that existing law’s requirement that, beginning on July 1, 2024, bus stops 

and shelters constructed by DOT or transit districts must comply with the federal Americans with 

Disabilities Act and certain plans developed by these entities apply only to those that are newly built 

on and after this date (PA 24-40, § 11, effective July 1, 2024).  

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=81
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2024&bill_num=5524
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
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Pesticides on Railroad Right-of-Way 

The legislature passed a new law changing the requirements for railroads that apply pesticide to 

their rights-of-way. Specifically, it (1) expands the types of information for the vegetation 

management plans the railroads annually submit to DOT and each town in which they will apply 

pesticide in the coming year; (2) requires them to develop, subject to public comment, yearly 

operational plans with, among other things, maps showing the rights-of-way and difficult-to-identify 

sensitive areas and information about the herbicides that will be applied; and (3) imposes method- 

and area-specific restrictions on applications in their rights-of-way, such as those occurring near 

public surface water sources, private wells, or wetlands. The new law subjects violators to a fine of 

up to $90 and authorizes the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) and DOT 

to enforce the application restrictions within available resources (PA 24-9, effective July 1, 2024). 

 

Proposed Fare and Service Changes  

Whenever DOT is required to hold a public hearing on a proposed major service change to 

commuter rail service according to federal requirements, a new law requires the department to 

provide at least 15 days’ notice of the hearing to the Transportation and Finance, Revenue and 

Bonding committees’ chairpersons and ranking members and the Connecticut Public 

Transportation Council.  

 

For public hearings related to fare changes for mass land transportation, existing law requires DOT 

to notify these legislative committees. The new law requires the department to provide this notice 

at least 15 days before the hearing and also to the council (PA 24-40, § 19, effective July 1, 2024). 

 

Shore Line East Service Restoration  

New legislation requires the DOT commissioner, by January 1, 2025, to submit a report to the 

Transportation Committee (1) identifying at least five alternative methods for restoring Shore Line 

East rail line service and (2) recommending the funding level needed to implement each alternative 

(PA 24-40, § 53, effective upon passage).  

 

Capital Projects and Transportation Funding 

DOT Capital Projects Information  

This session, the General Assembly enacted legislation requiring the DOT commissioner to develop 

and maintain an interactive map on the department’s website that displays the location and 

information of its active construction capital projects across the state. The map must (1) identify 

the funding source for each project, (2) aggregate the total costs of the projects by funding type and 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2024&bill_num=5219
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
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construction phase, and (3) provide information and scheduled phases for the projects (PA 24-40, 

§ 18, effective upon passage). 

 

Environmental Permitting Processes for Certain Transportation 

Projects 

Several state laws require DEEP to hold a public hearing on permit applications if it receives a 

petition signed by at least 25 people asking for one. This year’s budget implementer act requires 

specified information to be included in petitions about certain transportation capital projects and 

requires a hearing only if the petition alleges aggrievement or unreasonable pollution or destruction 

of public trust. These requirements apply to permits for regulated activities in wetlands; certain 

work in tidal, coastal, or navigable waters waterward of the coastal jurisdiction line; and certain 

state agency activities in or affecting a floodplain (PA 24-81, §§ 127-130, effective July 1, 2024). 

 

Special Transportation Fund (STF) Debt  

A new law requires that a portion of the STF’s balance be used to pay down STF-supported debt in 

order to reduce debt service costs in FY 25 and beyond. Specifically, the new law (1) caps the STF 

balance at the end of FY 24 at 18% of FY 25 appropriations and (2) requires any amount exceeding 

that cap to be used to pay off or reduce STF-supported debt (PA 24-151, § 124, effective upon 

passage). 

 

DMV-Licensed Businesses 

Car Rental Companies 

The legislature enacted a new law making several changes related to car rental companies and car 

rentals. First, it explicitly allows car rental companies to collect loss of use fees (“loss of use” is the 

deprivation of the car rental company’s use of a vehicle during the period reasonably required to 

repair it). Under the new law, companies may collect one day of the daily rental fee stated in the 

contract for every four labor hours required to repair the vehicle’s damage, as long as the 

calculated amount does not exceed a reasonable estimate of the actual income lost due to the loss 

of use. Violations of the new law are deemed an unfair trade practice under the Connecticut Unfair 

Trade Practices Act.  

 

The new law also modifies the circumstances under which short-term car rental companies may 

require customers to provide a credit or debit card. Under the act, the companies may require 

customers to provide proof of a credit card as a condition for renting certain large or premium 

vehicles, but they are prohibited from requiring proof of a credit or debit card from a customer’s 

additional driver if the additional driver shows a valid driver’s license and the customer shows proof 

of a card (PA 24-21, effective July 1, 2024).  

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=81
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=151
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=21
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Commercial Driving Schools and Driving Instructors 

The legislature made several changes pertaining to driving schools and driving instructors, 

including:  

1. increasing the surety bond amount for commercial driving schools from $15,000 per 

location, up to $100,000, to $50,000 per location with no cap;  

2. requiring driving instructors and master instructors to wear an employer-issued ID badge 

with their photo and license information; and 

3. specifying that driving schools are responsible for ensuring the instructors they employ 

comply with driving school and driving instructor statutes (PA 24-20, §§ 7-9, effective 

October 1, 2024). 

 

Dealer and Repairer Background Checks 

A new law modifies the requirements for fingerprinting and background checks for applicants for a 

new or renewed car dealer’s or repairer’s license. Under prior law, applicants were required to (1) 

be fingerprinted and undergo a state and national criminal history records check within 30 days 

before submitting the application and (2) submit the results of the check to the Department of 

Motor Vehicles (DMV). The new law eliminates the specified timeframe and the requirement for the 

applicant to submit the results to DMV (PA 24-20, § 5, effective October 1, 2024). 

 

Electronic Issuance Licenses for Registration and Title Companies 

A new law modifies the regulatory treatment of entities that electronically file their customers’ 

registration or title applications with DMV (i.e., registration and title companies) by establishing a 

statutory licensing structure for them. While, under prior law, these companies could file 

applications electronically if the commissioner approved them, under the new law they must get an 

“electronic issuance license.” The new law delineates applicant qualifications, the licensing 

process, and operating rules for licensees (e.g., capping the fee they may charge per application at 

$25). Currently authorized registration and title companies may continue filing applications 

electronically until January 1, 2025, after which they must have an electronic issuance license (PA 

24-20, §§ 1-3, most provisions effective October 1, 2024). 

 

Licensed Wreckers Towing Occupied Vehicles 

Under a new law, a licensed wrecker may not knowingly allow anyone to occupy a vehicle while 

towing it. As is the case under existing law for other provisions related to wreckers’ towing and 

transporting motor vehicles, a violation of this provision is (1) an infraction for a first offense and (2) 

a class D misdemeanor for subsequent offenses, punishable by a fine of up to $250, up to 30 days 

in prison, or both (PA 24-20, § 37, effective October 1, 2024). 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=20
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=20
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=20
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=20
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=20
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Motor Vehicle Recycler Surety Bonds 

This session, the legislature imposed a surety bond requirement on motor vehicle recyclers, as is 

required under existing law for other DMV-licensed businesses (e.g., dealers and repairers). 

Applicants seeking a new license or renewing one must furnish a $25,000 surety bond, conditioned 

on the applicant or licensee complying with any state or federal law or regulation relating to the 

business of operating a motor vehicle recycler’s yard and provided as indemnity for customers’ 

losses due to licensee actions that constitute grounds for license suspension or revocation or the 

licensee going out of business (PA 24-20, § 6, effective October 1, 2024). 

 

Motor Vehicle Transporter Registration Renewal Late Fee 

By law, motor vehicle transporters must annually renew their registrations by the last day of March. 

A new law imposes a $100 late fee for motor vehicle transporters who fail to renew their 

registration before it expires. It also prohibits the commissioner from renewing any transporter’s 

registration if it has been expired for more than 45 days (PA 24-20, § 4, effective October 1, 2024). 

 

Driver’s Licenses, Registrations, and Certificates of Title 

Inspection of Salvage Vehicles Before Registration 

By law, a salvage vehicle (i.e., one that was declared a total loss by an insurer and was 

subsequently reconstructed) must be inspected to determine if it is in good working condition and 

properly equipped before it may be titled and registered. Under prior law, these inspections had to 

be conducted by DMV. Under a new law, the inspections must be performed by DMV-authorized 

licensed repairers (PA 24-20, § 10, effective July 1, 2024).  

 

Military Experience as Substitute for Q-Endorsement Requirements 

This session, the legislature modified the law on Q-endorsement eligibility to waive the training and 

skill demonstration requirements for qualifying veterans and servicemembers. (A Q-endorsement is 

a license endorsement that authorizes holders to operate a fire apparatus (i.e., drive a fire truck).) 

To qualify, a veteran or servicemember must meet the minimum requirements that apply to 

commercial driver’s license (CDL) testing waivers under federal regulations. Broadly, this means an 

applicant (1) must show he or she was employed within a year of applying for the waiver in a 

military position that qualifies under the federal law; (2) drove a commercial vehicle in the military 

that was representative of the type he or she expects to drive; and (3) has not been convicted of 

certain motor vehicle offenses, among other things (PA 24-14, effective October 1, 2024).  

 

 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=20
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=20
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=20
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=14
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Passenger Registration of Pick-Up Trucks 

A new law makes pick-up trucks with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 8,501 pounds to 

8,550 pounds eligible for a passenger registration if they are not used commercially. Under prior 

law, these trucks had to be registered as a combination vehicle, despite not being used 

commercially. By requiring these pick-up trucks to be registered as passenger vehicles, the act 

potentially allows them to access roads or other places that limit access by commercial traffic (e.g., 

state parkways) (PA 24-20, § 42, effective October 1, 2024).  

 

Passport to the Parks Fee Increase 

A new law increases the Passport to the Parks motor vehicle registration fee to $24 for a triennial 

registration, $16 for a biennial registration, and $8 for an annual registration (from $15, $10, and 

$5, respectively) (PA 24-81, § 43, effective July 1, 2025). 

 

Veteran’s License Plates and Designations for Certain Reservists 

A new law allows eligible former reservists, or their surviving spouses, to get a veteran license plate.  

It also allows these reservists (but not their spouses) to receive a veteran designation on their 

driver’s license or identification card. Generally, these benefits may be provided to any person who 

honorably served in the National Guard or a reserve component of the United States Army, Navy, 

Marine Corps, Coast Guard, or Air Force (PA 24-119, effective October 1, 2024).  

 

Electric Vehicles  

Connecticut Hydrogen and Electric Automobile Purchase Rebate 

(CHEAPR) Program Changes 

By law, CHEAPR gives rebates and vouchers to residents, municipalities, businesses, nonprofits, 

and tribal entities that buy new or used battery electric vehicles, plug-in hybrid vehicles, and fuel 

cell electric vehicles. CHEAPR rebate or voucher amounts are set administratively by DEEP, which 

must provide a higher rebate to residents of “environmental justice communities” (i.e., distressed 

municipalities or census block groups where 30% or more of the population meet low income 

criteria). Prior law required the rebate or voucher amount for residents of these communities be up 

to 100% more than a standard rebate. A new law increases the amount to at least 200% greater 

than the standard amount. 

 

The new law also requires certain funds from the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative to be diverted 

to DEEP to fund the CHEAPR program and other programs established to support the department’s 

engagement with environmental justice communities. Under prior law, these funds went to the 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=20
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2024&bill_num=5523
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2024&bill_num=5285
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CHEAPR account, which is used to fund the CHEAPR program and certain activities related to the 

zero-emission school bus program (PA 24-81, §§ 54 & 55, effective upon passage). 

 

Weight Tolerance Exemption for Electric Commercial Vehicles 

A new law grants a weight tolerance exemption to primarily electric commercial motor vehicles 

driving on any road in the state, allowing them to exceed the state’s various vehicle weight limits by 

up to 2,000 pounds. Among other things, this increases the general maximum gross weight for 

electric commercial vehicles from 80,000 pounds to 82,000 pounds. Under federal law, this 

exemption already applies to these vehicles when traveling on interstate highways and certain 

roads near them (PA 24-20, § 41, effective July 1, 2024). 

 

Impaired Driving 

End Date of Ignition Interlock Requirements   

A new law sets conditions under which ignition interlock device (IID) requirements end earlier than 

usual following administrative per se driver’s license suspensions for driving under the influence 

(DUI). Under the new law, if the person was arrested for DUI and if cannabis was the only detected 

intoxicating substance, the required IID usage ends when (1) the person is acquitted or all charges 

are withdrawn, nolled, or dismissed, or (2) the person’s conviction is vacated, overturned, or 

erased. If the person was convicted for DUI and alcohol was one of the intoxicating substances, the 

required IID usage ends if the person received an absolute pardon (PA 24-137, § 2, effective 

October 1, 2024). 

 

Incident Reports and the Administrative Per Se Process  

The legislature extended the timeframe during which arresting officers must submit a report on a 

DUI arrest to DMV. Prior law required that the report be prepared and sent to DMV within three 

business days after the incident. The new law extends this timeframe to within six business days 

after the incident. Generally, these reports are an exception to the hearsay rule and admissible at 

an administrative per se license suspension hearing without the officer’s testimony (PA 24-40, § 

54, effective July 1, 2024).  

 

Ports, Harbors, and the Maritime Economy 

Economic Development and Tourism in the Greater Mystic Area 

This session the legislature established a working group to develop an economic and tourism plan 

for the greater Mystic area in the towns of Groton, New London, and Stonington. Among other 

things, the group is tasked with developing initiatives to promote tourism, examining transportation 

options to ease traffic and support business development, and proposing ways to develop the 

https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=81
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=20
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=137
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
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workforce. The group must also consider the potential impact of future flooding events on tourism 

areas and identify federal funding opportunities for tourism, transportation, and climate resilience 

infrastructure (SA 24-2, effective upon passage). 

 

Port Authority Report on Dredging and Other Activities 

A new law requires the Connecticut Port Authority (CPA), by January 1, 2025, and then quarterly, to 

submit a report to the Transportation and Appropriations committees that describes the authority’s 

(1) work to support grants under the Small Harbor Improvement Projects Program, (2) dredging 

activities and the dredging needs of harbors in the state, and (3) marketing activities for maritime 

communities. The report must also include a staffing plan to handle the authority’s needs (PA 24-

81, § 51, effective upon passage). 

 

Quarterly Report Review 

Under existing law, CPA must submit a quarterly report to the Transportation Committee on the 

status of current and pending contracts, small harbor projects, and the State Pier project in New 

London. A new law eliminates the requirement that the Department of Administrative Services and 

Office of Policy and Management (OPM) review and comment on the report before it is submitted to 

the committee (PA 24-81, § 89, effective upon passage). 

 

Small Harbor Improvement Projects 

This session, the legislature passed a law requiring CPA to establish the “Small Harbor 

Improvement Projects Account.” Under the law, funds deposited or appropriated into the account 

are to be used for specified costs related to (1) federal and nonfederal dredging projects in harbors 

not under CPA authority (CPA oversees the deep water ports in Bridgeport, New Haven, and New 

London) and (2) private maritime infrastructure projects (PA 24-48, effective from passage). 

 

Motor Vehicle Property Tax 

Motor Vehicle Mill Rate 

Existing law allows municipalities and districts to tax motor vehicles at a different rate than other 

taxable property and caps the motor vehicle mill rate at 32.46 mills. A new law (1) requires those 

that set different mill rates for motor vehicles and other taxable property to impose the lower rate 

on motor vehicles and (2) explicitly authorizes them to set the motor vehicle mill rate as low as zero 

mills. It also requires OPM to notify municipalities (1) annually that they have these options, and the 

parameters around them, and (2) before implementing a revaluation, that they may consider 

reducing their motor vehicle mill rate (SB 501, JSS, § 13, effective July 1, 2025). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=HB05432&which_year=2024
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=81
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=81
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=81
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=HB05189&which_year=2024
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fcga.ct.gov%2Fasp%2Fcgabillstatus%2Fcgabillstatus.asp%3FselBillType%3DBill%26which_year%3D2024%26bill_num%3D501&data=05%7C02%7CHeather.Poole%40cga.ct.gov%7C67d5d7d5d8e54757353308dc977cdb96%7C3ec76714b1b4418a883232c46ec84226%7C0%7C0%7C638551809728718587%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=WqM4MQABPLW1BGqZuyyR3jZt6ULq2sqIM%2BcEJcVroLs%3D&reserved=0
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Motor Vehicle Property Tax Assessments 

Existing law, beginning October 1, 2024, (1) requires assessors to value vehicles using their 

MSRPs, subject to depreciation (rather than using a guide OPM annually selects); (2) requires DMV 

to give municipalities a supplemental list of vehicles it registered on a monthly, rather than annual, 

basis; and (3) modifies the timeline for supplemental bills. This year, the legislature (1) adjusted the 

depreciation schedule assessors must use to value motor vehicles, (2) eliminated a requirement 

that OPM define a class of motor vehicles to be treated as personal property for taxing purposes, 

(3) specified how assessors must value commercial vehicle modifications and attachments, and (4) 

eliminated certain statutory deadlines for supplemental motor vehicle tax bills (SB 501, JSS, §§ 1-

12, effective dates vary). 

 

School Buses 

School Bus Idling 

A new law requires the DMV commissioner, by September 1, 2024, to review (and revise if needed) 

regulations, policies, and guidance applicable to school bus owners and operators on operating and 

inspecting school buses. Specifically, he must do so to ensure that these policies and procedures 

(1) promote adherence to the state’s anti-idling law for school buses and air quality regulations 

related to idling and (2) do not explicitly or implicitly require a school bus to idle for more than three 

minutes during its daily vehicle inspection. By the same date, the new law also requires the 

commissioner to give guidance to school bus owners and operators on aspects of the daily 

inspections that may be performed with the engine off and post the guidance on its website (PA 24-

20, § 38, effective upon passage). 

 

School Bus Seat Belts 

Starting July 1, 2025, a new law reestablishes a DMV school bus seat belt program that helps pay 

for school buses with three-point lap and shoulder seat belts by refunding school bus companies 

half the sales tax they pay for buses on which these seat belts were installed during manufacture. 

Program funding comes from the existing school bus seat belt account, which is funded by a portion 

($50) of each DMV fee collected for restoring suspended licenses and registrations. The law allows 

school districts to apply to DMV starting October 1, 2025. Under the new law, DMV, in collaboration 

with the Department of Education, must annually inform school districts about the program and 

how to apply (PA 24-20, § 40, effective January 1, 2025). 

 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fcga.ct.gov%2Fasp%2Fcgabillstatus%2Fcgabillstatus.asp%3FselBillType%3DBill%26which_year%3D2024%26bill_num%3D501&data=05%7C02%7CHeather.Poole%40cga.ct.gov%7C67d5d7d5d8e54757353308dc977cdb96%7C3ec76714b1b4418a883232c46ec84226%7C0%7C0%7C638551809728728659%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=bGKeGwZhAKIk1rBbv7M0IyNNbMgMYB2tgtg8pQd27FA%3D&reserved=0
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=20
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=20
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2024&bill_num=20
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Traffic Control and Highway Safety 

Bicycle-Control Signals  

A new law permits the use of bicycle-control signals (i.e., three-lens signal heads with green, yellow, 

or red bicycle-stenciled lenses) at intersections and requires cyclists to comply with them. When 

both traffic control signals and bicycle-control signals are present at an intersection, cyclists must 

comply with the bicycle signals. Under existing law, cyclists riding on the traveled portion of roads 

are generally subject to the same statutory duties applicable to motor vehicle drivers (PA 24-40, § 

6, effective July 1, 2024). 

 

DOT Road Safety Audits  

A new law requires DOT, by October 1, 2024, to develop a process allowing a municipality’s chief 

executive officer, local traffic authority, or regional council of governments to ask the department to 

do a road safety audit (RSA) of a specific state highway. The RSA process must require the DOT 

commissioner to notify the requesting entity in writing, within 60 days after receiving the request, of 

his decision whether to perform the RSA. If DOT will do one, it must coordinate with the applicable 

traffic authority to schedule the audit date; if not, the notice must include the reasons why. 

Additionally, the process must require DOT to submit RSA results to (1) the requesting entity and (2) 

legislators representing the municipality or municipalities where the audited state highway is 

located (PA 24-40, § 51, effective July 1, 2024).  

 

Local Traffic Authorities  

This session, the General Assembly enacted legislation allowing municipalities to create a separate 

entity to serve as their local traffic authority (LTA) instead of the board of police commissioners or 

another entity that existing law prescribes. Under the new law, any municipality, by vote of its 

legislative body, may establish an LTA and appoint members to serve on it. The municipality’s 

legislative body also sets the members’ qualifications, terms, and compensation, if any. An LTA 

created through this process replaces the entity currently filling this role in the municipality and has 

all the powers and duties the law assigns to LTAs (PA 24-40, §§ 7 & 8, effective July 1, 2024).  

 

Major Traffic Generating Developments  

A new law requires the Office of the State Traffic Administration (OSTA) to order local building 

officials to revoke building or foundation permits issued for major traffic-generating developments 

that do not have an OSTA certificate. Under existing law, entities constructing these developments 

must get a certificate and local building officials may not issue a permit unless the entity provides 

this certificate (PA 24-40, §§ 2-5, effective July 1, 2024). 

 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
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Variable Speed Limits  

Under a new law, DOT may set variable speed limits (i.e., temporarily lower the posted speed limit) 

on limited-access highways to address traffic congestion, road construction, or other conditions 

affecting safe and orderly traffic movement. A variable speed limit must be (1) based on an 

engineering investigation, (2) no less than 10 mph below the posted speed limit, and (3) effective 

when it is posted and accompanied by a sign notifying drivers of the speed limit change. These new 

variable speed limit provisions replace a provision of prior law that generally allowed DOT to modify 

limited-access highway speed limits during weather events or emergencies (PA 24-40, § 9, effective 

October 1, 2024).  

 

Violations of Traffic Control and Road Safety Orders  

This session, the legislature increased, from $5,000 to $10,000, the maximum fine for any person 

or entity that does not comply with certain orders related to traffic control and road safety (e.g., 

OSTA orders for major traffic generating developments or local traffic authorities’ orders related to 

traffic control devices) (PA 24-40, § 1, effective October 1, 2024).  

 

Miscellaneous  

Carbon Sequestration Study 

A new law requires DOT to give a grant from available resources to UConn’s Department of Natural 

Resources and the Environment to study carbon sequestration by trees and other vegetation along 

roads and other areas in the state. It earmarks special tax obligation bonds authorized for specified 

transportation projects for this study. 

 

UConn must (1) submit an interim report to the Environment and Transportation committees, by 

January 1, 2025, and a final report with its findings and recommendations by July 1, 2025, and (2) 

present one or both reports at a hearing held by these committees (PA 24-151, §§ 53 & 63, 

effective July 1, 2024). 

 

Certification of Applicants for Accessible Parking Placards 

A new law modifies the conditions under which a health care professional may certify an applicant 

for an accessible parking removable windshield placard. It requires health care professionals who 

certify placard applicants’ eligibility to do so based on their professional opinion after completing a 

medically reasonable assessment of the applicant’s medical history and current medical condition 

made in the course of a bona fide health care professional-patient relationship. It also (1) prohibits 

health care professionals from making their fees contingent on whether or not they certify the 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2024&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=40
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2024&bill_num=5524
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applicants’ eligibility and (2) imposes a civil penalty up to $1,000 for violations (PA 24-20, §§ 43-

45, effective October 1, 2024).  

 

Court Report to the Department of Motor Vehicles 

A new law requires the court to report to the DMV commissioner anyone who willfully fails to comply 

with remote events and deadlines the court sets for motor vehicle infractions and certain violations. 

Specifically, this applies to motor vehicle violations under the jurisdiction of the Superior Court’s 

Centralized Infractions Bureau, which is responsible for processing payments and not guilty pleas 

for them (PA 24-108, § 2, effective July 1, 2024). 

 

Low-Speed Vehicles 

A new law generally allows the operation of “low-speed vehicles” (LSVs) on roads with speed limits 

of 25 mph or less. (An LSV is a four-wheeled motor vehicle that has a (1) speed attainable in one 

mile of more than 20 mph but not more than 25 mph on a paved, level surface and (2) gross 

vehicle weight rating of 3,000 pounds or less.) Under the new law, LSVs are “motor vehicles” for the 

purpose of state motor vehicle laws, which means, among other things, that LSVs must be 

registered, titled, and insured and their drivers must be licensed. The new law allows OSTA and 

local traffic authorities to prohibit or limit LSV use on roads under their jurisdictions (PA 24-20, §§ 

33-36, effective October 1, 2024). 

 

Parking Authorities and Municipal Parking Regulations  

A new law allows any municipality to adopt an ordinance authorizing its parking authority to enforce 

municipal parking regulations, rather than only Hartford as under prior law. As under existing law for 

Hartford, the ordinance may allow the municipality to remit the funds it receives for parking 

violations to the parking authority (PA 24-40, § 52, effective July 1, 2024).  
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